Not Wal-Mart

Posted: November 8, 2011 in Uncategorized

I went shopping yesterday for the rest of the food for this week.  As I said before, I’m not willing to do this if it means eating food from Wal-Mart.  (I don’t know how they get them all to smell the same way…sort of like feet, industrial strength cleanser and desperation…and I’m pretty sure some of the people there are mole-people who live underground.)  I’m very lucky to live and work about 3 miles from a Trader Joe’s.  In fact, when I moved to California, I didn’t have a refrigerator for the first month.  I fed myself fairly well for a month from everything they had in that store that didn’t need to be refrigerated, and I didn’t get sick and I didn’t go broke.  Freeze-dried strawberries are fraking awesome is all I’m saying.

I do have this little shopping-when-hungry problem.  It’s how I end up with mango butter and goat cheese.  And yesterday, by the time I got to the store I was cold and tired and hungry, and it was already dark outside for some godsawful daylight saving reason that I still don’t understand.  I was trying really hard to steer away from anything that wasn’t on my list, and I did pretty well, but I did wind up buying some produce that was a little more expensive but looked so good.

Oh, yeah, I haven’t talked about the gollum complex, which I totally, completely overlooked when I designed this project.  As soon as you say I can’t have something, I wants it! kicks in.  Honestly, I underestimated the fuck out of that impulse, and I didn’t think it would be as strong as it was yesterday.  It makes perfect sense, though…there are a ton of things I don’t eat.  (Meat, fish, anything with gelatin, fast food, trans fats, or anything I very scientifically determine is unhealthy.  And a whole bunch of things, like margarine and asparagus, that I think are icky).  Because I’m restricted in other ways, I like raspberries, dark chocolate, raw almonds, edamame, this amazing pumpkin ice cream that Trader Joe’s makes that I think I’ll end up buying a year’s supply of.  All that stuff is good for me, but it also tends to be expensive and I’m waiting to see if I can splurge a little bit this weekend.  I’m not so happy about the rules right at this moment.

Here’s what I bought:

Trader Joe’s

  • 8oz white button mushrooms, $1.69
  • Organic tomato paste, $0.89
  • Whole canned tomatoes, $1.49
  • Frozen strawberries, $1.69
  • One red pepper, $1.29
  • Two containers of greek yogurt, $1.99 each
  • 3 bananas, $0.19 each
  • One red onion, $0.69
  • 4 granny smith apples, $0.59 each
  • Large grade AA fertile eggs, $2.79 (more expensive than the regular eggs, but they’re a big source of protein for me so I buy good quality eggs)
  • Broccoli florets, $1.99
  • Half gallon of whole milk, $1.89
  • Total: $21.32 (California doesn’t charge tax on grocery food)

 

Target

  • 1lb dry pinto beans, $1.20
  • 1 lb long grain brown rice, $0.71
  • Coffeemate, $1.94 (Bad bad habit!  I need to get back to drinking half-and-half)
  • Total: $3.85
 

So, the total for the groceries so far is $25.71.  Some of that will be left over; I can’t eat a pound of pinto beans and a pound of rice in a week.  I’ll also be using some pumpkin granola, cheddar cheese, peanut butter, tortillas, salsa, butter, black beans, a sweet potato, and olive oil from my fridge and pantry.  I’ll calculate those things into my totals for each day…I ran around like a psycho coupon lady and checked the prices for everything I knew I would be using.  I made a crock pot full of chili last night, and my house still smells all tomatoey and spicy.  It’s one of my comfort foods…something my mom made a lot when I was a kid, although my recipe is different.  It’s way spicier than hers, but it doesn’t have meat and I’m pretty sure she would never think about putting a sweet potato in it.  Either way, it’s food that makes me think of home, and it’s a great way to start this week.

Comments
  1. Looking forward to keeping up with your blog here. I am very interested in seeing how you pull this off.

Leave a Reply

